Managing Professional User Access

A new admin panel has been released that offers users additional administrative control features. See this article for more information.

These updates are in response to requests we have received from admins who require greater visibility over who on their team has access, as well as more tools to manage content ownership between users. 

How should I manage users who are now deactivated?

Deactivated users cannot log in, but their content (videos and assets) is preserved and will remain so until you take action on their account. Read on for more details on how to handle these users. You should review the list of users and make a decision on whether or not these users 

a., require access to create in Vyond,

b., own content and assets you wish to preserve, or

c., ought to have their content and assets deleted.

There is no time limit on when to manage these users. If you do not take action, they will simply remain in the same state. Their accounts and content will be inaccessible, but the content and assets will be safely preserved until you make a choice to

a., activate the user,

b., deactivate and transfer their content or

c., deactivate and delete their content.

How do I make a deactivated user into an active user?

If you have a seat available you can reactivate the user, or you can add a seat for them to occupy.

What if I don’t have any open seats?

If you do not already have an open seat on your subscription you can purchase an additional seat, or review your list of users to see if there is another user that can be deactivated to free up a seat. 

I don’t want to reactivate this user, but I need to keep their videos and assets. 

If you click on the deactivated user, you will also have the option to transfer their video content and imported assets to another active user. The folder structure and shared video settings from the deactivated user will be carried over to the new owner. Imported assets have a special tab in the assets menu.

What happens when a user is deactivated and the content is deleted? 

Deactivated users own no content and no longer occupy a seat on your subscription. Content deletion and content ownership transfer are both permanent and irreversible. Reactivating these users will not restore previously deleted or transferred content.

What happens when a user is suspended?

Suspending a user in Vyond means that they cannot log into their Vyond account. Their content is retained and they can be reactivated at any time. If you work with the same contractors frequently, this is a convenient way to maintain their access to the platform and avoid having to transfer ownership of their content between projects. Suspended users occupy a seat.

What do the new user statuses mean? 

 User Status

 Can Log in?

 Occupies Seat?

 Can Own Content?

 Notes

 Active

 Yes

 Yes

 Yes

 

 Suspended

 No

 Yes

 Yes

 
 Deactivated

 No

 No

 No*

*Content will revert to admin ownership or can be transferred to a specific user prior to deletion

 Deactivated 

 No

 No

 Yes**

**Reactivate user or transfer content to an active user 

 See also: How do I deactivate, suspend, or add new seats and users in Vyond Professional?

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

0 comments

Article is closed for comments.